George Hickes

Circonscription: 
Iqaluit-Tasiluk
Legislative Office: 

Téléphone: (867) 975-5148
Télécopieur: (867) 975-5149
Courriel: ghickes [at] assembly [dot] nu [dot] ca

Bureau de circonscription: 

Téléphone: à venir
Télécopieur: à venir
Courriel: georgehickes [at] tasilukmla [dot] ca

George Hickes a été réélu député de la circonscription d’Iqaluit-Tasiluk à la 5e Assemblée législative du Nunavut lors de l’élection générale du 30 octobre 2017.

Lors de la première séance de la 5e Assemblée législative tenue le 21 novembre 2017, M. Hickes a été nommé pour servir au Comité de sélection et au Bureau de régie et des services. M. Hickes est également coprésident de l’ensemble du caucus de l’Assemblée législative. Monsieur Hickes a siégé précédemment à la 4e Assemblée législative au cours de laquelle il a notamment occupé les postes de ministre de la Santé et de ministre responsable de la Prévention du suicide.

Avant son élection, monsieur Hickes occupait le poste de directeur des communications d’entreprise à la Société d’énergie Qulliq, et a également occupé des postes de haute direction au ministère de l’Éducation et au ministère du Développement économique et des Transports du Nunavut. Monsieur Hickes a notamment occupé le poste d’adjoint administratif du ministre de l’Éducation.

Monsieur Hickes est originaire de Churchill au Manitoba. Il a fréquenté le College Red River de Winnipeg. Avant de s’établir à Iqaluit en 2004, monsieur Hickes a travaillé dans le secteur bancaire, et a été propriétaire de sa propre petite entreprise de fabrication à Thompson.

Monsieur Hickes a été sapeur-pompier volontaire, membre des Rangers canadiens et entraîneur de hockey pour les jeunes.

George et Signi Frederickson ont deux enfants : Lily (Piungwasluq) et Sara (Putuguq). Monsieur Hickes compte parmi ses passe-temps préférés la chasse, la pêche et le golf.

George Hickes

Constituency: 
Iqaluit-Tasiluk
Legislative Office: 

Phone: (867) 975-5148
Fax: (867) 975-5149
Email: ghickes [at] assembly [dot] nu [dot] ca

Constituency Office: 

Phone: To follow
Fax: To follow
Email: georgehickes [at] tasilukmla [dot] ca

George Hickes was re-elected in the general election held on October 30, 2017, to represent the constituency of Iqaluit-Tasiluk in the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

During the 5th Legislative Assembly’s first sitting, which was held on November 21, 2017, Mr. Hickes was appointed to serve on the Striking Committee and the Management and Services Board. Mr. Hickes also serves as the Co-Chairperson of the Legislative Assembly’s Full Caucus. Mr. Hickes previously served in the 4th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, during which he served as Minister of Health and Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention.

Prior to his election, Mr. Hickes was employed as the Qulliq Energy Corporation’s Manager of Corporate Communications. Mr. Hickes has also held senior positions in the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Education and Department of Economic Development and Transportation. Mr. Hickes also served as Executive Assistant to the Minister of Education.

Mr. Hickes was born in Churchill, Manitoba, and attended Red River College in Winnipeg. Prior to making Iqaluit his home in 2004, Mr. Hickes worked in the banking industry and owned his own small manufacturing business in Thompson.

Mr. Hickes has been a volunteer firefighter, a member of the Canadian Rangers and a youth hockey coach.

George and Signi Frederickson have two children: Lily (Piungwasluq) and Sara (Putuguq). Mr. Hickes’s personal interests include hunting, fishing and golfing.