Standing Committee on Social Wellness

 Standing Committee on Social Wellness

Margaret Nakashuk 

Adam Arreak Lightstone 

Tony Akoak
George Hickes
Joelie Kaernerk
Mila Kamingoak
Patterk Netser 

John Main
Allan Rumbolt
Cathy Towtongie 

Committee Clerk: Stephen Innuksuk
Research and Policy Analysts: Alex Baldwin, Karen Aglukark and Siobhan Moss

The mandate of the Standing Committee on Social Wellness is to:

  • Consider main estimates, capital estimates, departmental business plans and corporate business plans; and
  • Consider any other matter referred by the House. 

The Standing Committee has oversight responsibility for the following Government of Nunavut departments and Crown agencies:

  • Department of Culture and Heritage;
  • Department of Education;
  • Department of Family Services;
  • Department of Health;
  • Department of Justice; and
  • Nunavut Arctic College.