Select event type to filter by
Tuesday May 29, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 29, 2018) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council Joe Enook today announced that Ms. Betty Brewster and Mr. Ludy Pudluk will be invested into the Order of Nunavut at a ceremony to be held on Tuesday, June 5, 2018, at 6:00pm (EST) in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly.

Thursday June 14, 2018
Start: Jun 14 2018 6:54 pm

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 14, 2018) - A new Premier and Member of the Executive Council were chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

Joe Savikataaq, MLA for Arviat South, was elected as Premier.

George Hickes, MLA for Iqaluit-Tasiluk, was elected to serve on the Executive Council.

The Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios.

Formal motions to confirm the appointments will be made when the House reconvenes later this evening.


Syndicate content