Select event type to filter by
Tuesday October 23, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (October 23, 2018) - The Legislative Assembly today approved a motion recommending that Ms. Katherine Peterson, Q.C., be appointed Integrity Commissioner of Nunavut. The motion was unanimously adopted by the House.

The territorial Integrity Act provides that the Integrity Commissioner holds office for a five-year term. Ms. Peterson’s appointment is effective immediately.

In June of this year, the Management and Services Board of the Legislative Assembly publicly invited applications for the position of Integrity Commissioner.

Wednesday October 24, 2018
Thursday October 25, 2018
Wednesday October 31, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (October 31, 2018) - The Legislative Assembly’s Caucus today announced that the Nunavut Leadership Forum will convene at 2:30pm (EST) on Friday, November 2, 2018, to select a new member of the Executive Council.

Friday November 02, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 2, 2018) - A new member of the Executive Council was chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

Patterk Netser, Member for Aivilik, was acclaimed to serve on the Executive Council.

The Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios.

A formal motion to confirm the appointment will be made at the Monday, November 5, 2018, sitting of the House.


Monday November 05, 2018
Thursday November 08, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 8, 2018) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council, the Honourable Joe Enook, today announced that nominations have opened for the Order of Nunavut.

Tuesday November 20, 2018

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 20, 2018) - The Honourable Joe Enook, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, today announced that the 7th Speaker’s Youth Parliament will be televised live across the territory on Thursday, November 22, 2018, at 1:30pm (EST).

Syndicate content