Events

Select event type to filter by
Monday May 27, 2019

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 27, 2019) - The Nunavut Leadership Forum will convene at 10:30am (EST) on Tuesday, May 28, 2019, to select a new Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.

Tuesday May 28, 2019
Wednesday May 29, 2019
Start: May 29 2019 3:35 pm

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 29, 2019) - John Main, Chairperson of the Legislative Assembly’s Regular Members’ Caucus, today tabled the first-ever Letter of Expectation to the Executive Council of Nunavut.

Thursday May 30, 2019

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 30, 2019) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council Simeon Mikkungwak today announced that Mr. Zacharias Kunuk will be invested into the Order of Nunavut at a ceremony to be held on Tuesday, June 4, 2019, at 6:00pm (EST) in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly.

Friday May 31, 2019
Monday June 03, 2019
Tuesday June 04, 2019
Wednesday June 05, 2019
Thursday June 06, 2019

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 6, 2019) - The Legislative Assembly today approved a motion recommending that Ms. Marilyn Jane Bates be appointed Nunavut’s new Representative for Children and Youth. The motion was unanimously adopted by the House.

The territorial Representative for Children and Youth Act provides that the Representative holds office for a five-year term. The appointment of Ms. Bates is effective July 22, 2019.

Friday June 07, 2019
Tuesday June 11, 2019

The Legislative Assembly’s Standing Committee on Legislation invites Nunavut residents and organizations to provide formal written submissions on Bill 25, An Act to Amend the Education Act and the Inuit Language Protection Act.

Bill 25 was introduced by the Minister of Education and received 2nd Reading in the Legislative Assembly on June 5, 2019.

Syndicate content