The Honourable David Akeeagok


Deputy Premier

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister of Human Resources

Minister Responsible for Trade

Minister responsible for Mines

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Legislative Office: 

Phone: (867) 975-5026
Fax: (867) 975-5016
Email: dakeeagok [at] gov [dot] nu [dot] ca

Constituency Office: 

P.O. Box 24
Arctic Bay, NU
X0A 0A0
Phone: (867) 439-8050
Fax: (867) 439-8051
Email: davidakeeagok [at] quttiktuqmla [dot] ca

David Akeeagok was elected in the general election held on October 30, 2017, to represent the constituency of Quttiktuq in the 5th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Mr. Akeeagok was elected to serve on the Executive Council during the November 17, 2017, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. Minister Akeeagok was formally sworn into office on November 21, 2017. He serves as the Deputy Premier, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, Minister responsible for Mines, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation and Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation.

Mr. Akeeagok was raised in Grise Fiord, Canada’s most northerly community. He has held a number of professional positions in his career, including a variety of senior appointments in the Government of Nunavut. These have included the positions of Chief Devolution Negotiator, Deputy Minister of Community and Government Services, Deputy Minister of Environment and Deputy Minister of the Executive and Secretary to Cabinet.

Mr. Akeeagok has been an active community volunteer in the field of search and rescue and has served with Grise Fiord’s Iviq Hunters and Trappers Organization.

Mr. Akeeagok’s personal interests include hunting and fishing.

David and Carol Akeeagok are the proud parents of Amy, Christine, Gamaliel, Hope, Minnie, Pelina and Samson.