Joe Savikataaq

Circonscription: 
Arviat Sud
Legislative Office: 

Téléphone: (867) 975-
Télécopieur: (867) 975-
Courriel: jsavikataaq [at] assembly [dot] nu [dot] ca

Bureau de circonscription: 

Poste Restante
Arviat, NU
X0C 0E0
Téléphone: (867) 857-4485
Télécopieur: (867) 857-4486
Courriel: joesavikataaq [at] arviatsouthmla [dot] ca

Joe Savikataaq a été réélu sans opposition député de la circonscription d’Arviat Sud à la 6e Assemblée législative du Nunavut.

M. Savikataaq a siégé précédemment aux 4e et 5e Assemblées législatives au cours de laquelle il a notamment occupé les postes de ministre de l’Environnement et de ministre des Services communautaires et gouvernementaux. Il a été le cinquième premier ministre du Nunavut de 2018 à 2021.

Avant son élection, monsieur Savikataaq a occupé pendant près de 30 ans un poste d’agent de conservation de la faune au ministère de l’Environnement du Nunavut. M. Savikataaq est titulaire d’un diplôme dans le domaine de la gestion de l’environnement et des ressources renouvelables.

M. Savikataaq a été membre élu du conseil municipal d’Arviat pendant vingt ans. Il a participé de manière active aux activités du comité de recherche et de sauvetage de sa collectivité.

Joe et Susan Savikataaq ont trois enfants : Jamie, Joe Jr.et Wendy et neuf petits-enfants. Monsieur Savikataaq compte parmi ses passe-temps la chasse, la pêche, le pilotage de petits aéronefs, la navigation de plaisance et la plongée autonome.

Joe Savikataaq

Constituency: 
Arviat South
Legislative Office: 

Phone: (867) 975-
Fax: (867) 975-
Email: jsavikataaq [at] assembly [dot] nu [dot] ca

Constituency Office: 

General Delivery
Arviat, NU
X0C 0E0
Phone: (867) 857-4485
Fax: (867) 857-4486
Email: joesavikataaq [at] arviatsouthmla [dot] ca

Joe Savikataaq was re-elected by acclamation to represent the constituency of Arviat South in the 6th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Mr. Savikataaq previously sat as a Member of the 4th and 5th Legislative Assemblies, during which held a number of Ministerial portfolios, including Minister of Environment and Minister of Community and Government Services. Mr. Savikataaq served as Nunavut’s fifth Premier from 2018 to 2021.

Mr. Savikataaq was previously employed as a Conservation Officer with the Department of Environment, a position he held for close to 30 years. Mr. Savikataaq holds a diploma in the field of environmental and renewable resources management.

Mr. Savikataaq has 20 years of service as an elected member of Arviat’s municipal council. Mr. Savikataaq has been an active volunteer with community search and rescue activities.

Joe and Susan Savikataaq have three children, Jamie, Joe Jr. and Wendy, and nine grandchildren. Mr. Savikataaq’s personal interests include hunting, fishing, small aircraft piloting, boating and scuba diving.