2019 Nominations Open for the Order of Nunavut

Dec 13 2019

IQALUIT, Nunavut (December 13, 2019) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council, the Honourable Simeon Mikkungwak, today announced that nominations have opened for the Order of Nunavut.

On January 1, 2010, The Order of Nunavut Act came into force. The statutory objective of the Order is to “honour individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cultural, social or economic well-being of Nunavut.” The Order is the highest honour of Nunavut and takes precedence over all other orders, decorations or medals awarded or conferred by the Government of Nunavut. The inclusion of the Order of Nunavut into the Canadian Honours System was formalized in 2018 by way of a federal Order in Council that was approved by the Governor General.

The Order of Nunavut Advisory Council considers nominations to the Order and makes recommendations to the Commissioner of Nunavut, who serves as the Chancellor of the Order. The members of the Advisory Council are the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the Chief Justice of the Nunavut Court of Justice and the President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated.

Nomination forms are available from the offices of Members of the Legislative Assembly and can be downloaded from the Legislative Assembly’s website at www.assembly.nu.ca. Nominations must be received by 5:00pm (EST) on Friday, February 28, 2020. Investiture ceremonies will take place on a subsequent date to be announced.

To date, a total of eighteen individuals have received the Order of Nunavut for their contributions in such fields as public and community service, the arts, education, language promotion, spiritual leadership and business development.

Speaker Mikkungwak said, “As we look forward to celebrating the tenth anniversary of the coming into force of the Order of Nunavut Act, I encourage all Nunavummiut to consider nominating someone who has made a positive and enduring contribution to our territory.”


For more information:

John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
and Secretary to the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council
Tel: (867) 975-5000

2019 Nominations Open for the Order of Nunavut122.01 KB
Nomination Form296.27 KB