Swearing-in of New Commissioner of Nunavut

Feb 1 2021

IQALUIT, Nunavut (February 1, 2021) - Speaker Paul Quassa today announced that the swearing-in ceremony and personal investiture into the Order of Nunavut for Commissioner-designate Eva Qamaniq Aariak, C.M., will take place at 09:30am (EST) on Wednesday, February 3, 2021, in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly.

Speaker Quassa said, “On behalf of all Members of the Legislative Assembly, I congratulate Ms. Aariak on her appointment as our territory’s new Commissioner and I look forward to participating in this historic occasion.”

As a consequence of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, physical distancing guidelines remain in place. Access to the foyer and visitors’ gallery of the Legislative Assembly Chamber will be restricted to official participants during the ceremony.

The ceremony will be televised on local community cable stations and direct-to-home satellite service on the Bell (channel 513) and Shaw (channel 289 - classic / channel 489 - new lineup) networks. The ceremony will be live-streamed at: http://video.isilive.ca/nunavut/. Residents of Iqaluit may also listen to the live radio broadcast of the ceremony on the following FM channels: Floor: 92.5 / Inuktitut: 94.7 / English: 102.1.


For further information:
John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly
(867) 975-5000

Swearing-in of New Commissioner of Nunavut128.98 KB