_oo.タ゚ L⊂し⊂▷゚б
Nunavut Maligaliurvia
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

MLAs elect new Cabinet Minister

IQALUIT, Nunavut (October 24, 2000) – Olayuk Akesuk, MLA for South Baffin, was chosen by the Members of the Legislative Assembly to serve on the Executive Council of Nunavut in a secret ballot election held earlier today.

Three Members stood for election to the Executive Council. Mr. Akesuk was declared the winner after one ballot. After being elected, Mr. Akesuk thanked the Members and his family for their support. "I'm excited my fellow MLAs supported me and I'm happy that I have the support of my family. I am looking forward to working with Cabinet and the rest of the Members.

All Members of the Legislative Assembly voted in the election, which was held in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. The election occurred after each candidate made an address. The proceedings were open to the public.

A motion in the House is required for the Legislative Assembly to formally recommend the appointment. It is the prerogative of the Premier to assign ministerial portfolios. Minister-elect Akesuk will be sworn into office by the Commissioner of Nunavut at a time to be announced.

The Legislative Assembly is currently in Session.

-30-

For more information:

Tony Rose Public Affairs Officer Tel: (867) 975-5106 Fax: (867) 975-5190