

kNK5 moZos3=x Nunavut Maligaliurvia Legislative Assembly of Nunavut Assemblée législative du Nunavut

## Nunavut's Speaker, Premier and Cabinet elected by the Nunavut Leadership Forum

**IQALUIT, Nunavut (March 5, 2004)** – Nunavut's Speaker, Premier and Cabinet were chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all 19 of Nunavut's Members of the Legislative Assembly.

Jobie Nutarak, MLA for Tunnuniq, was acclaimed as Speaker.

Paul Okalik, MLA for Iqaluit West, was elected as Premier on the first ballot.

A total of eleven Members accepted nominations to serve as Ministers. The following Members were elected to Cabinet:

Leona Aglukkaq, MLA for Nattilik

Olayuk Akesuk, MLA for South Baffin

Levinia Brown, MLA for Rankin Inlet South-Whale Cove

Peter Kilabuk, MLA for Pangnirtung

Ed Picco, MLA for Iqaluit East

David Simailak, MLA for Baker Lake

Louis Tapardjuk, MLA for Amittuq

Formal motions to confirm the appointments of the Speaker, Premier and Cabinet will be made on the first sitting day of the Second Legislative Assembly, which will take place on March 9, 2004, at 1:30pm EST.

The *Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act* provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios.

- 30 -

For more information: Tony Rose, Public Affairs Officer Tel: (867) 975-5000 / Fax: (867) 975-5190 Email: TRose@Assembly.Nu.Ca