

KNK5 moZos3=x Nunavut Maligaliurvia Legislative Assembly of Nunavut Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

Legislative Assembly establishes Electoral Boundaries Commission

IQALUIT, Nunavut (March 1, 2006) – The Legislative Assembly of Nunavut has unanimously adopted a motion recommending the appointment of three distinguished Nunavummiut to the Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Under the *Nunavut Elections Act*, an Electoral Boundaries Commission is required to be formed within 24 months of the swearing-in of the current Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

The Assembly recommended the Honourable Beverley Browne of Iqaluit, Chief Justice of the Nunavut Court of Justice, as Presiding Member of the Commission. John Ningark of Kugaaruk and Bernadette Niviatsiak of Rankin Inlet have been nominated to serve as Members. Formal appointments to the Commission will be made by the Honourable Ann Hanson, Commissioner of Nunavut.

After its formal appointment, the Commission will have a 250-day mandate to examine Nunavut's current electoral boundaries and develop recommendations for consideration by the Legislative Assembly.

The Third Session of the Second Legislative Assembly of Nunavut is currently in Session.

-30-

For more information: Tony Rose Public Affairs Officer Tel: (867) 975-5106

Fax: (867) 975-5190

Email: trose@assembly.nu.ca