

」。

Lーしートいる
Nunavut Maligaliurvia
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

MLAs announce date and format of Nunavut Leadership Forum

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 7, 2008) - The Legislative Assembly's Caucus today announced the date and format for the 2008 Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

- The Forum will be held in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly, beginning at 10:00am on Friday, November 14, 2008. The proceedings will be open to the public to observe from the Visitors' Gallery. The proceedings will be broadcast live across Nunavut on local community cable channels.
- The selection of the Speaker, Premier and members of the Executive Council (Cabinet) will be made by secret ballot. The first item of business will be the election of the Speaker. The Speaker-designate will preside over the proceedings of the Forum, but will not be permitted to vote during the selection process for the Premier and Cabinet.
- The second item of business will be the election of the Premier. Each nominated candidate will be permitted to make a speech. MLAs not standing for the position of Premier will be permitted to ask questions of candidates. Detailed procedures concerning the selection process will be issued at the beginning of the Forum's proceedings.
- Caucus agreed that Cabinet will consist of eight members (Premier and seven Ministers). In light of
 the December 15, 2008, by-election for the constituency of Akulliq, Caucus agreed that seven
 members of Cabinet will be selected during the Forum's proceedings of November 14, 2008 (Premier
 and six Ministers). The Forum will reconvene in early 2009 to select the remaining Minister. The
 Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act provides that the Premier has the prerogative to
 assign Ministerial portfolios.
- Formal motions to confirm the appointments of the Speaker, Premier and Cabinet will be made on the first sitting day of the Third Legislative Assembly, which will take place on Tuesday, November 18, 2008, at 1:30pm (EST). The swearing-in ceremony for Members of the Third Legislative Assembly will take place at 9:00am (EST) on Tuesday, November 18, 2008, in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. These events will also be open to the public to observe from the Visitors' Gallery and will be broadcast live across Nunavut on local community cable channels.