

مم⊅َ ∟⊣ل⊸⊳∿⊲ Nunavut Maligaliurvia Legislative Assembly of Nunavut Assemblée législative du Nunavut

## RELEASE

## Nunavut Leadership Forum elects Speaker, Premier and Cabinet Ministers

**IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 14, 2008)** - Nunavut's Speaker, Premier and six Members of the Executive Council were chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

James Arreak, MLA for Uqqummiut, was acclaimed as Speaker.

Eva Aariak, MLA for Iqaluit East, was elected as Premier.

A total of nine Members accepted nominations to serve on the Executive Council. The following Members were elected: Lorne Kusugak, MLA for Rankin Inlet South-Whale Cove; Keith Peterson, MLA for Cambridge Bay; Daniel Shewchuk, MLA for Arviat; Louis Tapardjuk, MLA for Amittuq; Peter Taptuna, MLA for Kugluktuk; and Hunter Tootoo, MLA for Iqaluit Centre.

The *Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act* provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios. The Forum will reconvene in early 2009 to select the remaining Minister, as announced by Caucus on November 7, 2008.

Formal motions to confirm the appointments of the Speaker, Premier and Cabinet will be made on the first sitting day of the Third Legislative Assembly, which will take place on Tuesday, November 18, 2008, at 1:30pm (EST).

The swearing-in ceremony for Members of the Third Legislative Assembly will take place at 9:00am (EST) on Tuesday, November 18, 2008, in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly. These events will also be open to the public to observe from the Visitors' Gallery and will be broadcast live across Nunavut on local community cable channels.

-30-

For more information: John Quirke Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Tel: (867) 975-5100