

Nunavut Canada

LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF NUNAVUT

2nd Session

6th Assembly

HANSARD

Official Report

DAY 49

Saturday, September 23, 2023

Pages 3127 - 3129

Iqaluit

Speaker: The Honourable Tony Akoak, MLA

Legislative Assembly of Nunavut

Speaker Hon. Tony Akoak

(Gjoa Haven)

Hon. David Akeeagok

(Quttiktuq)

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation; Minister of Justice; Minister responsible for Labour

Hon. P.J. Akeeagok

(Igaluit-Niagunnguu)

Premier; Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs; Minister responsible for Immigration; Minister responsible for Indigenous Affairs; Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation

> Bobby Anavilok (Kugluktuk)

Janet Brewster

(Iqaluit-Sinaa)

Hon. Pamela Gross

(Cambridge Bay)

Deputy Premier; Minister of Culture and Heritage; Minister of Education; Minister of Languages; Minister responsible for Seniors

George Hickes

(Iqaluit-Tasiluk)

Deputy Speaker and Chair of the Committee of the Whole

Hon. David Joanasie

(South Baffin)

Government House Leader; Minister of Community and Government Services; Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council Joelie Kaernerk

(Amittuq)

Mary Killiktee

(Uqqummiut)

Hon. Lorne Kusugak

(Rankin Inlet South)

Minister of Finance, Chair of the Financial Management Board; Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation

Adam Lightstone

(Iqaluit-Manirajak)

Hon. John Main

(Arviat North-Whale Cove)
Minister of Energy; Minister of
Environment; Minister of Health; Minister
responsible for Suicide Prevention

Solomon Malliki

(Aivilik)

Deputy Chair, Committee of the Whole

Hon. Margaret Nakashuk

(Pangnirtung)

Minister of Family Services; Minister responsible for Homelessness; Minister of Human Resources; Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College;

Minister responsible for the Status of Women; Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission

Officers

Clerk

John Quirke

Clerk Assistant Law Clerk Stephen Innuksuk Michael Chandler Sergeant-at-Arms Michel Albert

Hansard Production Innirvik Support Services

Box 1200

Iqaluit, Nunavut, X0A 0H0 Tel (867) 975-5000 Fax (867) 975-5190 Toll-Free (877) 334-7266

Website: www.assembly.nu.ca

Karen Nutarak

(Tununiq)

Daniel Qavvik

(Hudson Bay)

Joanna Quassa

(Aggu)

Inagayuk Quqqiaq

(Netsilik)

Alexander Sammurtok

(Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet)

Joe Savikataaq

(Arviat South)

Deputy Chair, Committee of the Whole

Craig Simailak

(Baker Lake)

Table of Contents

Opening Prayer	3127
Notices of Motions	3127
Motions	3127
Orders of the Day	3128

A. Daily References	
Saturday, September 23, 20233	127
B. Motions	
020 – 6(2): Appointment to the Executive Council of Nunavut – Notice (Lightstone)	127
020 – 6(2): Appointment to the Executive Council of Nunavut (Lightstone)	128
021 – 6(2): Early Adjournment (Savikataaq)	128

Iqaluit, Nunavut Saturday, September 23, 2023 Members Present:

Hon. David Akeeagok, Hon. P.J.
Akeeagok, Mr. Bobby Anavilok, Ms.
Janet Brewster, Mr. George Hickes,
Hon. David Joanasie, Mr. Joelie
Kaernerk, Ms. Mary Killiktee, Hon.
Lorne Kusugak, Mr. Adam Lightstone,
Hon. John Main, Mr. Solomon Malliki,
Hon. Margaret Nakashuk, Ms. Karen
Nutarak, Mr. Daniel Qavvik, Ms. Joanna
Quassa, Mr. Inagayuk Quqqiaq, Mr.
Alexander Sammurtok, Mr. Joe
Savikataaq, Mr. Craig Simailak.

>>House commenced at 10:58

Item 1: Opening Prayer

Deputy Speaker (Mr. George Hickes): Thank you. I would like to ask Mr. Savikataaq to lead us in prayer, please.

>>Prayer

Deputy Speaker: I would like to recognize the Member for Iqaluit-Sinaa, Ms. Brewster.

Ms. Brewster: *Ullaakkut*, Mr. Speaker. I seek unanimous consent to proceed directly to Item 14 on the order paper. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. The member is seeking unanimous consent to proceed directly to Item 14 on the order page. Do members agree?

Some Members: Agreed.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. There's agreement.

Mr. Lightstone: Thank you, Mr. Speaker. I seek unanimous consent to deal with my motion today. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. The member is seeking unanimous consent to deal with motion today. Do members agree?

Some Members: Agreed.

Item 14. Notices of Motions. Mr. Lightstone.

Item 14: Notices of Motions

Motion 020 – 6(2): Appointment to the Executive Council of Nunavut – Notice

Mr. Lightstone: Thank you, Mr. Speaker. I give notice that on Monday, September 25, 2023, I will move the following motion:

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the Hon. Member for Tununiq, that the Legislative Assembly recommends to the Commissioner of Nunavut that Joelie Kaernerk, Member for Amittuq, and Daniel Qavvik, Member for Hudson Bay, be appointed to the Executive Council of Nunavut.

At the appropriate time, I will seek unanimous consent to deal with my motion today. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you, Mr. Lightstone. Notices of Motions for First Reading of Bills. Motions. Mr. Lightstone.

Item 16: Motions

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. There is agreement. Please proceed, Mr. Lightstone.

Motion 020 – 6(2): Appointment to the Executive Council of Nunavut

Mr. Lightstone: Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

WHEREAS section 60 of the Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act provides that the Executive Council of Nunavut shall be composed of persons appointed by the Commissioner on the recommendation of the Legislative Assembly;

AND WHEREAS the Legislative Assembly is prepared to recommend appointments;

NOW THEREFORE I MOVE, seconded by the Hon. Member for Tununiq, that the Legislative Assembly recommends to the Commissioner of Nunavut that Joelie Kaernerk, Member for Amittuq, and Daniel Qavvik, Member for Hudson Bay, be appointed to the Executive Council of Nunavut.

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. The motion is in order. To the motion.

An Hon. Member: Question.

Deputy Speaker: All those in favour. Opposed. The motion is carried. Mr. Savikataaq.

Motion 021 – 6(2): Early Adjournment

Mr. Savikataaq (interpretation): Thank you, Mr. Speaker. (interpretation ends) Pursuant to Rule 46, I move, seconded by the Hon. Member for Iqaluit-Sinaa, that the House adjourn for the day. Thank you, Mr. Speaker.

Deputy Speaker: Thank you. The motion to adjourn is in order and is not subject to debate. All those in favour. Opposed. The motion is carried.

Item 22. Before I proceed, as members are aware, recent changes to airlines.... I'm trying to skip a few seconds. Mr. Clerk.

Item 22: Orders of the Day

Clerk (Mr. Quirke): Thank you, Mr. Speaker. *Orders of the Day* for October 19:

- 1. Prayer
- 2. Ministers' Statements
- 3. Members' Statements
- 4. Returns to Oral Questions
- Recognition of Visitors in the Gallery
- 6. Oral Questions
- 7. Written Questions
- 8. Returns to Written Questions
- 9. Replies to Opening Address
- 10. Petitions
- 11. Responses to Petitions
- 12. Reports of Standing and Special Committees on Bills and Other Matters
- 13. Tabling of Documents

- 14. Notices of Motions
- 15. Notices of Motions for First Reading of Bills
- 16. Motions
- 17. First Reading of Bills
- 18. Second Reading of Bills
- 19. Consideration in Committee of the Whole of Bills and Other Matters
- 20. Report of the Committee of the Whole
- 21. Third Reading of Bills
- 22. Orders of the Day

Thank you.

>>Applause

Deputy Speaker: Thank you, Mr. Clerk. As members are aware, recent changes to airline schedules require that the date of reconvening be adjusted.

In accordance with Motion 19 - 6(2) and the authority vested by way of Rule 3(3), this House stands adjourned until October 19, 2023.

Sergeant-at-Arms.

>>House adjourned at 11:03