

____○ Lーしートー Ad Nunavut Maligaliurvia Legislative Assembly of Nunavut Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

Size of Cabinet to Remain Stable Following Resignation of Minister Sammurtok

IQALUIT, Nunavut (May 6, 2015) - Caucus Chairperson Steve Mapsalak today announced that the size of the Executive Council will remain, for the present time, at eight (Premier and seven Ministers), following the resignation from Cabinet of Mr. Tom Sammurtok, MLA for Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet.

Mr. Sammurtok submitted his resignation at yesterday's meeting of Caucus, which was accepted by Premier Taptuna. Premier Taptuna took the opportunity to thank Mr. Sammurtok for his service in Cabinet.

"I believe that this decision is in the best interest of the Legislative Assembly, the Government of Nunavut, my constituents in Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet and my family," said Mr. Sammurtok. Mr. Sammurtok will continue to serve as the MLA for Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet.

"As was originally announced at our February 2014 Caucus retreat in Kugluktuk, one of the matters to be considered during the upcoming mid-term leadership review, which will be held during the fall of this year, is the size of Cabinet," said Mr. Mapsalak. "Any decisions concerning the appointment of new Ministers will be made at that time."

-30-

For more information: Steve Mapsalak, MLA Chairperson, Full Caucus Tel: (867) 975-5000