

」。 Lーしートいる
Nunavut Maligaliurvia
Legislative Assembly of Nunavut
Assemblée législative du Nunavut

RELEASE

## MLA for Tununiq resigns from the Legislative Assembly

**IQALUIT, Nunavut** (May 16, 2011) - James Arvaluk, Member of the Legislative Assembly for Tununiq, has declared his decision to resign his seat as a Member of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, effective immediately.

Pursuant to the *Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act*, Mr. Arvaluk formally informed the Deputy Speaker of his decision by way of correspondence dated May 16, 2011.

Mr. Arvaluk said, "It has been an honour to serve the people of Pond Inlet in the Legislative Assembly and I deeply appreciate the support and encouragement that I have received during my recent health challenges. Following consultation with family, constituents and colleagues, I have determined that the needs of my constituents would be best served by affording them the opportunity to elect a new Member to serve in the Legislative Assembly."

Section 38 of the *Nunavut Elections Act* provides that a by-election must be held "as soon as reasonably practicable and not later than six months after a seat becomes vacant."

Consistent with established practice, the Commissioner of Nunavut will, by proclamation, give instructions for the issuing of a writ of election, following advice from the Cabinet.

-30-

For more information:

John Quirke Clerk of the Legislative Assembly Tel: (867) 975-5000