

RELEASE

2015 Nominations Open for the Order of Nunavut

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 1, 2015) - Speaker of the Legislative Assembly and Chairperson of the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council George Qulaut today announced that nominations have re-opened for the Order of Nunavut.

On January 1, 2010, *The Order of Nunavut Act* came into force. The objective of the Order is to recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the cultural, social or economic well-being of Nunavut. The Order is the highest honour of Nunavut and takes precedence over all other orders, decorations or medals conferred by the Government of Nunavut.

The Order of Nunavut Advisory Council considers nominations to the Order and makes recommendations to the Commissioner of Nunavut, who serves as the Chancellor of the Order. The members of the Advisory Council are the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, the Senior Judge of the Nunavut Court of Justice and the President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated.

Nomination forms are available from the offices of Members of the Legislative Assembly and can be downloaded from the Legislative Assembly's website at <u>www.assembly.nu.ca</u>.

Nominations must be received by 5:00pm (EST) on Monday, August 31, 2015. Investiture ceremonies will take place later this year.

The 2011 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were the Reverend Michael Gardener, C.M., the late Mark Kalluak, C.M. and the late Jose Amaujaq Kusugak. The 2012 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were the late Kenojuak Ashevak, C.C. and Mr. Charlie Panigoniak. The 2013 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were Messrs. Jimmy Akavak, Louis Angalik Sr. and Davidee Arnakak. The 2014 recipient of the Order of Nunavut was Mr. John Amagoalik.

"The Council looks forward to considering nominations of distinguished Nunavummiut," said Speaker Qulaut.

-30-

For more information: John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly and Secretary to the Order of Nunavut Advisory Council Tel: (867) 975-5000