Order of Nunavut

medallion tiny

medallion midsizeThe Order of Nunavut Act was passed by the Legislative Assembly in December of 2009 and came into force on January 1, 2010. The objective of the Order is to honour individuals who have provided an outstanding contribution to the cultural, social or economic well-being of Nunavut.

medallion tinyThe Order is the highest honour of Nunavut and takes precedence over all other orders, decorations or medals conferred by the Government of Nunavut. The Order of Nunavut Advisory Council recommends individuals for investiture into the Order. The members of the Advisory Council are the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut, the Senior Judge of the Nunavut Court of Justice and the President of Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated.

medallion tinyA maximum of three individuals may be invested into the Order each year. A Canadian citizen is eligible to become a member of the Order if, at the time of investiture, he or she is a resident of Nunavut or if he or she was formerly a long-term resident of Nunavut or the area that became Nunavut on April 1, 1999.

medallion tiny The following are not eligible for appointment to the Order while they hold office: Members of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut; Members of Parliament; mayors and members of municipal councils; judges of any court; members of the Advisory Council and the Secretary of the Council.

medallion tiny The 2011 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were the Reverend Michael Gardener, C.M., the late Mark Kalluak, C.M. and the late Jose Amaujaq Kusugak. The 2012 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were the late Kenojuak Ashevak, C.C. and Charlie Panigoniak. The 2013 recipients of the Order of Nunavut were Messrs. Jimmy Akavak, Louis Angalik Sr. and Davidee Arnakak.The 2014 recipient of the Order of Nunavut was Mr. John Amagoalik.

Order of Nunavut Nomination Form - May 2016 - English.pdf249.18 KB