Legislative Assembly Invites Applications to Serve on the Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 13, 2022) - Speaker Tony Akoak today invited Nunavummiut to submit applications to serve on the Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission.

Section 14 of the Nunavut Elections Act requires that an electoral boundaries commission “must be established for Nunavut every 10 years commencing in 2022.” The last electoral boundaries commission was established in 2010. Its final report was tabled in the Legislative Assembly on September 28, 2011.

The next Nunavut Electoral Boundaries Commission will be established during the fall 2022 sitting of the Legislative Assembly. The Commission will consist of three members and be presided over by a judge or retired judge of the Nunavut Court of Justice or the Court of Appeal. The other two members must be eligible Nunavut voters.

Applications should be submitted no later than 5:00 p.m. (EST), on August 31, 2022. Further information concerning the application process is available on the Legislative Assembly’s website at www.assembly.nu.ca.

For more information:
John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly