The Honourable David Akeeagok

Member Photo

Minister of Justice

Minister of Economic Development and Transportation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation

Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation

Minister responsible for Mines

Minister responsible for Trade

Minister responsible for the Labour Standards Board

Minister responsible for the Human Rights Tribunal

Legislative Office

Phone: (867) 975-5026
Fax: (867) 975-5095

Constituency Office

P.O. Box 24
Arctic Bay, NU
X0A 0A0
Phone: (867) 439-8050
Fax: (867) 439-8051

David Akeeagok was re-elected by acclamation to represent the constituency of Quttiktuq in the 6th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. 

Mr. Akeeagok was elected to serve on the Executive Council during the November 17, 2021, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. Minister Akeeagok was formally sworn into office on November 19, 2021. He serves as Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, Minister responsible for Mines, Minister responsible for Trade, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Development Corporation, Minister of Justice, Minister responsible for Labour and Minister responsible for the Nunavut Human Rights Tribunal.

Mr. Akeeagok previously sat as a Member of the 5th Legislative Assembly, during which he held a number of Ministerial portfolios, including Deputy Premier, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, Minister of Finance and Minister of Human Resources. 

Mr. Akeeagok was raised in Grise Fiord, Canada’s most northerly community. He has held a number of professional positions in his career, including a variety of senior appointments in the Government of Nunavut. These have included the positions of Chief Devolution Negotiator, Deputy Minister for numerous departments and Secretary to Cabinet. 

Mr. Akeeagok has been an active community volunteer in the field of search and rescue and has served with Grise Fiord’s Iviq Hunters and Trappers Organization. 

David and Carol Akeeagok are the proud parents of Amy, Gamaliel, Pelina, Christine, Minnie, Samson and Hope. They have five grandchildren. Mr. Akeeagok’s personal interests include hunting and fishing.