The Honourable PJ Akeeagok

Member Photo
Iqaluit - Niaqunnguu
Legislative Office

Phone: (867) 975-5050 
Fax: (867) 975-5051 

Constituency Office

P.O. Box 1150 
Iqaluit, NU 
X0A 0H0 
Phone: (867) 979-0410 
Fax: (867) 979-0415 

P.J. Akeeagok was elected in the general election held on October 25, 2021, to represent the constituency of Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu in the 6th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Mr. Akeeagok was elected as Premier of Nunavut during the Nunavut Leadership Forum’s proceedings of November 17, 2021. He was sworn into office on November 19, 2021.

Prior to his election, Mr. Akeeagok served two terms as the President of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. His professional experience also includes senior management positions with Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami. He is a past member of the boards of directors of Larga Baffin, the Makigiaqta Inuit Training Corporation and the Nunasi Corporation.

Mr. Akeeagok is originally from Grise Fiord, Canada’s most northerly community. He has studied at both Nunavut Sivuniksavut and the University of Ottawa.

P.J. and Parniga are the proud parents of Jacob, Jazmine and Ryan. Mr. Akeeagok’s personal interests include hunting and other outdoor pursuits.