Nunavut Leadership Forum elects Speaker, Premier and Cabinet Ministers

IQALUIT, Nunavut (November 17, 2017) - Nunavut’s Speaker, Premier and Members of the Executive Council were chosen today by the Nunavut Leadership Forum. The Forum consists of all MLAs.

Joe Enook, MLA for Tununiq, was acclaimed as Speaker.

Paul Quassa, MLA for Aggu, was elected as Premier.

A total of thirteen Members accepted nominations to serve on the Executive Council. The following Members were elected: David Akeeagok, Pat Angnakak, Jeannie Ehaloak, David Joanasie, Lorne Kusugak, Joe Savikataaq and Elisapee Sheutiapik.

The Legislative Assembly and Executive Council Act provides that the Premier has the prerogative to assign Ministerial portfolios.

The swearing-in ceremony for Members of the 5th Legislative Assembly will take place at 10:00am (EST) on Tuesday, November 21, 2017, in the Chamber of the Legislative Assembly.

Formal motions to confirm the appointments of the Speaker, Premier and Cabinet will be made on the first sitting day of the 5th Legislative Assembly, which will take place on Tuesday, November 21, 2017, at 1:30pm (EST).

These proceedings will be televised live across the territory on local community cable stations and direct-to-home satellite service on the Bell (channel 513) and Shaw (channel 289 – classic / channel 489 – new lineup) networks.


For more information:

John Quirke, Clerk of the Legislative Assembly

Tel: (867) 975-5100

Nunavut Leadership Forum elects Speaker, Premier and Cabinet Ministers128.02 KB