The Honourable David Joanasie

Member Photo
South Baffin
Government House Leader

Minister of Community and Government Services

Legislative Office

P.O. Box 2410
Iqaluit, NU
X0A 0H0
Phone: (867) 975-5023
Fax: (867) 975-5103

Constituency Office

P.O. Box 156
Cape Dorset, NU
X0A 0C0
Phone: (867) 897-8753
Fax: (867) 897-8645

David Joanasie was re-elected by acclamation to represent the constituency of South Baffin in the 6th Legislative Assembly of Nunavut.

Mr. Joanasie was elected to serve on the Executive Council during the November 17, 2021, proceedings of the Nunavut Leadership Forum. He was formally sworn into office on November 19, 2021. He serves as Minister of Community and Government Services, Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council and Government House Leader.

Mr. Joanasie previously sat as a Member of the 4th and 5th Legislative Assemblies. During the 4th Legislative Assembly, Mr. Joanasie served as Chair of the Social Wellness Committee and as a member on the Management and Services Board. During the 5th Legislative Assembly, he held a number of Ministerial portfolios, including Minister of Education, Minister of Culture & Heritage and Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College.

Prior to his election, he held the position of Communications Manager of the Qikiqtani Inuit Association. His professional career also includes positions with the Government of Nunavut’s Department of Culture, Language, Elders and Youth and the Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami.

Mr. Joanasie has served on Sport Nunavut’s Mission Staff and participated in the Northern Youth Abroad Program. He is a past member of the Board of Directors of the Tumikuluit Saipaaqivik daycare.

Mr. Joanasie holds a certificate in business communication from Saint Mary’s University and a diploma from Algonquin College/Nunavut Sivuniksavut in Ottawa.

Mr. Joanasie’s personal interests include hunting, fishing, hockey, travelling, traditional land activities and Inuit language multi-media projects.

David and Emily Joanasie are the proud parents of Sayri, Cynthia, Qulittalik, Pittaaluk, and Pattu.